Skip to main navigation.

Operation Round Up Helps To Educate The Community

South River EMC’s not-for-profit foundation, the Community Assistance Corporation, or CAC, awarded $61,764 in Operation Round Up grants to local nonprofits and schools.

The following non-profit organizations each received grants for $5,000: Transitions Life Care; Friends Fighting Cancer, Inc.; and the Clement Civic Center Inc. Other organizations receiving funding include;  Godwin Falcon Fire Department, $3,122; Suttontown EMS, $3843; Gray’s Creek Volunteer Fire   Department, $5,424; Wade Community Fire Department, $3,000; and Herring Volunteer Fire and Rescue, $1,500

Additionally, several schools received funding. These entities can apply for grants up to $10,000. Schools awarded grants are; Hobbton Elementary School, $5,000; Mac Williams Middle School, $6,475; Hobbton High School, $5,000; Midway Elementary School, $10,000; and Sampson Early College High School, $3,400.

“Operation Round Up celebrates 10 years of community care this year!” said VP of Member Services and Public Relations Catherine O’Dell. “These beneficiaries join an elite class of community-centric organizations that have been entrusted with funds to educate our children and support our community.”

Operation Round Up is a voluntary program that enables members to round up their electric bill to the next whole dollar. For example, if a bill is $136.95, the bill rounds up to $137 and the extra 5¢ is deposited into the CAC fund. Members can put small change together to make a positive difference in their community today, as well as providing better educational opportunities for the leaders of tomorrow.

South River EMC accepts and reviews applications on a quarterly basis. The next due date is August 17 by 5 p.m. Applications and rules can be found online at Always make sure you have the most recent copy of the application

South River EMC is a locally owned and operated electric cooperative, which provides electric service to 43,000 homes, farms and businesses in parts of Harnett, Cumberland, Sampson, Johnston and Bladen counties.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo